Bringing Chess to Visually Impaired People

The David Hodgkins
Memorial Annual
Best Game Prize

Diamond shaped pink paper weight


Awarded to Peter Gibbs

Awarded by David Mabbs


Awarded to Malola Prasath

Awarded by Peter Gibbs


Awarded to Paul Benson

Awarded by Stan Lovell


Awarded to Gill Smith

Awarded to Richard Murphy

Awarded by Bill Armstrong

Bill Armstrong presents  prize to Gill Smith & Richard Murphy


Awarded to Chris Ross

Awarded by Graham Lilley

Julie Leonard presents prize to Chris Ross


Awarded to Bill Armstrong

Awarded by Owen Phillips

Owen Phillips awards prize to Bill Armstrong

This prize was donated to the BCA in memory of David Hodgkins. Each year, a member of the association is asked to choose a game from those submitted which they feel is worthy of the prize. It is open to players of any strength and ajudicators do not look for the most technically precise game or even an astonishing brilliance. They look for a notable performance for the individual player at their particular level.

The prize is open to any member or associate member of the BCA who lives in the British Isles. Games must have been played in a correspondence or over-the-board event run by the BCA or whilst playing for a BCA team.

Games published in the gazette are automatically submitted and members can send games they wish to be considered to any member of the committee or emailed to customer services.

Download the best games archive

Peter Gibbs - Malola Prasath
14th BCA Email Tournament
division 1

1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 3. Nc3 Bg7 4. e4 O-O 5. f4 d6 6. Nf3 Na6!? 7. e5 Ne8 8. h3 c5 9. d5 e6 10. Be2 Nac7 11. O-O b6 12. Be3 Qe7 13. Qd2 Bb7 14. Bf2 Rd8?15. Rad1 dxe5?16. Bh4 Bf6 17. fxe5 Bxh4 18. d6 Qd7 19. Nxh4 Na6 20. Qg5 Nb8 21. Bg4 Kg7 22. Nd5! h6 23. Qe3 h5 24. Nxg6! hxg4 25. Nge7 1-0