The Gazette - August 2015

Edited by Julie Leonard
The views expressed in the Gazette do not necessarily reflect the policies or views of the BCA, nor those of the editor.

Correspondence Chess Director’s Report

If anybody has any correspondence issues, or would just like to know more about it, please do not hesitate to contact a committee member. (See contact details at the front of this Gazette).

43rd Correspondence Championship

Listed below are the Groups for the 43rd BCA Correspondence Championship which started in January 2015, with one or two early results now coming in.

Premier Group: Group leader: Mark Hague

Whittle 1-0 Crombie (London System) 13

Hague 0-1 Crombie (Benko Gambit) 40

Crombie 1-0 Mears (Scotch Game) 26

Players: Alec Crombie, Mark Hague, Ernie McElroy, David Mears, Les Whittle, Guy Whitehouse.

Challenger Group A: Group leader: Denis Warren

Gallacher 0-1 Warren (Giuoco Piano) 22

Players: Stephen Brown, Derek Couchman, Jim Cuthbert, Eric Gallacher, Denis Warren.

Challenger Group B: Group leader: Eleanor Tew

Hague 1-0 Cohn (Sicilian) 19

Hague 1-0 Tew (French) 29

Tew 0-1 Phillips (Modern) 26

Players: Hans Cohn, Mike Hague, Steve Hilton, Geoff Patching, George Phillips, Eleanor Tew.

League Competition

The current league competition started in January 2014 and is now drawing to a close. The next league competition will start in January 2016 and I will include all current league players unless you let us know otherwise. Naturally, anyone else who wishes to join will also be made very welcome.

The latest position in the present league competition is outlined below.

League Division 1: Group leader: Norman Wragg

The crucial game in this division is the one between Alec Crombie and Ernie McElroy which has now reached over 40 moves. Watch this space.

Whitehouse 0.5-0.5 Phillips (Vienna) 22

Scores: Alec Crombie 3.5-4; Guy Whitehouse 3-4; Ernie McElroy 2-3; David Hodgkins 1-2; Mark Hague 1-5; George Phillips 1-4.

League Division 2: Group leader: Denis Warren

As mentioned in the May Gazette, congratulations go to Steve Brown and Derek Heyes who have jointly won the Division 2 title: all the games in this division are now complete.

Hague 1-0 McGuigan (Owen's Defence) 31

McGuigan 0-1 Gallacher (no details)

Scores: Stephen Brown 4.5, Derek Heyes 4.5, Mike Hague 3, Denis Warren 1, Michael McGuigan 1, Eric Gallacher 1.

League Division 3: Group leader: Jim Cuthbert

There is only the game between David Mears and Derek Couchman unfinished in this division. A draw or a win for David would secure him the title but Geoff Patching is waiting in the wings.

Patching 1-0 Couchman (Queen’s Pawn Game) 29

Scores: David Mears 3-3; Geoff Patching 3-4; Derek Couchman 1.5-3; Eleanor Tew 1-4; Jim Cuthbert 0.5-4.

Ladder Tournament

There does not seem to be a lot of activity in the ladder tournament at present. Remember that the player finishing at the top of the ladder at the end of each calendar year is declared the winner for that year and receives an inscribed trophy to keep. Please send the results of your ladder games to Denis Warren, the friendly games coordinator.

Couchman 0-1 Warren (Giuoco Piano) 28

Warren 1-0 Mears (Giuoco Piano) 38

Scores: Stephen Thacker 9; Roger Bishop 8; Jim Cuthbert and Gary Wickett 7; Denis Warren 6;

Stan Lightowler 5; Mark Hague, Stan Lovell, Brian Davey and Dorothy Hodges 4;

Les Whittle, Ernie McElroy, Geoff Patching and Lea Ryan 3;

Derek Couchman, Lionel Bryant, Jason Pearce and Ann Saunders 2; Chris Huby 1; Eric Gallacher 0.

Norrman Wragg