The Gazette - February 2020

Sponsored by The Ulverscroft Foundation
Edited by Julie Leonard
The views expressed in the Gazette do not necessarily reflect the policies or views of the BCA, nor those of the editor.

Correspondence Chess Director’s Report

The BCA Correspondence League 2020-21 has started with a moderate decrease in participants over the previous cycle.


Premier - Group Leader Paul Benson

Crombie 1 - 0 Phillips, Caro-Kann, 39.

Scores: Alec Crombie 2.5-3, Ernie McElroy 2-2, Guy Whitehouse 1.5-2, George Phillips 1-3, Denis Warren 0-4.

Challengers - Group Leader Gary Wickett

Cuthbert 0 - 1 Gallacher, Irregular, 34.

Greatrex 1 - 0 Tew.

Gallacher 1 - 0 Greatrex, Ponziani, 16.

Scores: Voldi Gailans 4-5, Mike Hague 3.5-4, Eric Gallacher 3.5-5, Arthur Greatrex 1-3, Jim Cuthbert 1-4, Eleanor Tew 0-5.

BCA LEAGUE 2020-21

Division 1 - Group Leader Guy Whitehouse

Players: Alec Crombie, Voldi Gailans, Mark Hague, Ernie McElroy, all 0-0.

Division 2 - Group Leader Voldi Gailans

Players: Jim Cuthbert, Eric Gallacher, George Phillips, Denis Warren, all 0-0.

Division 3 - Group Leader George Phillips

Players: Mike Flood, Arthur Greatrex, Malcolm Jones, Eleanor Tew, Andrew Wood, all 0-0.


Congratulations to Paul Benson on leading the table and so becoming Champion when it closed for the year. As happens to all champions, their score is reduced to zero and the battle to fight to the top starts over again. Anyone wishing to play a friendly game on the Ladder should now contact myself, details as shown in list of Officers. Any friendly games played under correspondence conditions, such as by Braille, cassette, email, Skype, telephone, can qualify as a Friendly Ladder game. Please report such games and let your efforts be reflected in your accumulating score.

Warren 0 - 1 Flood, Sicilian, 30.

Flood 0 - 1 Benson, Sicilian, 31.

Final ladder scores as at 31st December 2019:

12 Paul Benson; 7 Jim Cuthbert; 6 Eleanor Tew; 5 Stan Lightowler; 4 Mark Hague, Dorothy Hodges, Stan Lovell, Denis Warren; 3 Ernie McElroy, Lea Ryan; 2 Lionel Bryant, Derek Couchman, Tony Elbourn, Mike Flood, Jason Pearce, Gill Smith, Bill Tatum; 1 Christopher Huby.

In closing, to those about to start a game: Break a peg!

Paul Benson