BCA AGM 2019

View the games from the top board

The Old Swan in Harrogate played host to our annual general meeting and five round congress, held in memory of Les Whittle. Les gave many years of service to the association, representing the UK in overseas events and coaching many of our improving players.

We were pleased to see a large turnout for this tournament which forced us to expand into two playing rooms. Graham Geraughty joined us for the first time and Mohamme Javaid and Ahsan Ali returned after a long absence - they last played with us as juniors.

Challengers Les Whittle Memorial

Chris Ross won the open with 4.5, chased by Paul Benson who drew with Ross and Burnell to finish undefeated on 4. Third prize was split four ways. In the challengers, Dan Rugman and Gary Wicket finished joint first on 4 with Steve Thacker in third on 3.5.

Moira making the first move

The David Hodgkins annual best game prize was adjudicated by Bill Armstrong and awarded to Phil Murphy and Gill Smith.

Many thanks to Jerry Walsh, Julie Leonard and Norman Andrews for running a smooth tournament; and to Steve and Hazel Burnell for organising an enjoyable weekend. Our next tournament will be the Geoff Patching Memorial British Championship in Torquay from Tuesday 9th July to Tuesday 16th July, 2019.

Final standings


Chris Ross 4.5 1st

Paul Benson 4 2nd

Owen Phillips 3 =3rd

Steve Burnell 3 =3rd

Ian Blencowe 3 =3rd/Grading Prize A

Richard Murphy 3 =3rd/Grading Prize B

Stan Lovell 2.5 Extra Grading Prize A

Bill Armstrong 2 

Colin Chambers 2 

Mark Kirkham 2 

George Phillips 2 Extra Grading Prize B

Guy Whitehouse 1.5 

Voldi Gailans 1.5 


Dan Rugman 4 =1st Trophy

Gary Wickett 4 =1st

Steve Thacker 3.5 3rd

Mark Hague 3 

Jim Cuthbert 3 Grading Prize A

John Osborne 3 =Grading Prize B

Phil Rafferty 3 =Grading Prize B

Gill Smith 2.5 

Tony Lawton 2 

Ednun Pourtahmasbi 2 =Grading Prize C

Graham Geraughty 2 =Grading Prize C

Javaid Mohammed 2 =Grading Prize C

Richard Harrington 1.5 

Ahsan Ali 1

Dan Rugman
BCA Publicity Officer



BCA 2002 - 2019