B.C.A. International Autumn Congress 2010

Held at the Old Swan hotel, Harrogate, 12-14 November 2010

Click here to download the games from the top board of the Autumn Tournament 2010.


By Stan Lovell


With generous support from the Geoff and Fiona Squires trust and the Primery Club

26 Players entered the five round event with 16 in the open and 10 in the minor section.


Chris Ross with a trophy


The open section was led from the start by top seed, Chris Ross, who eventually completed the perfect score with 5 from 5.

Chris who hails from the north east of England now teaches modern languages in St. Peter's school, Huntington. Les Whittle from Morpeth finished second with 3.5 with Steve Burnell, Leamington Spa third on 3. Grading prizes were won by: Norman Wragg, Sheffield, Duncan Chambers, York and Philip Gordon, Isle of Wight.

The minor section followed a similar pattern with Voldi Gailans, Photograph of Les WhittleChadwell Heath, achieving the perfect 5 from 5 . Mark Hague, London, with 4 was second with David Gibbs, Cardiff and Thomas Kenealy, Leamington Spa sharing third place and a grading prize. The final grading prize was won by Michael Lowery, Newcastle-upon-Tyne playing in only his third competitive event.

The arbiters were Julie Leonard and Peter Gibbs.

A number of fund-raising events, including a raffle and a bring and buy sale raised around 300 towards BCA funds.


Final placings:


1 Chris Ross 5

2 Les whittle 3.5Photograph of Thomas Kenealy

3/5 Steve Burnell, Norman Wragg and Duncan chambers 3

6/10 on 2.5 Philip Gordon, Tristram Cole, Bill Armstrong, Steve Thacker and

Richard Murphy

11/14 on 2 Norman Andrews, John Gallagher, stan Lovell and David Hodgkins

15/16 on 1 Steve Brown and George Phillips



Photograph of Voldi Gailans

1 Voldi gailans 5

2 Mark Hague 4

3/4 on 3 David Gibbs and Thomas Kenealy

5/7 on 2.5 Michael Lowery, Gary Wickett and Geoff Patching

8 John Osborne 1.5

9 Lee Ryan 1

10 Richard Harrington 0.5

Stan Lovell

B.C.A. Publicity Officer

Julie Leonard 2010)














B.C.A. 2002 - 2010