Autumn Tournament 2005

The B.C.A. congress at Bedford, October 29th /30th, was an international tournament and an Irish group and two players from The Netherlands joined a strong home entry in the Open event. Two associate members Paul Cumbers and Tyson Mordue headed the field with the two strongest blind players Chris Ross and Graham Lilley close to them on grading. The event was closely contested and these four and Bill Armstrong reached the final round on 3 points out of 4. Last round results gave Tyson Mordue and Graham Lilley first place with 4/5 and Chris Ross and Paul Cumbers shared 3rd place on 3.5 points.

Fine performances by Stan Lovell and Roger Waters took them to three points and grading prizes in their respective groups.

Meanwhile, in the Minor tournament, John Cuthbert swept all before him to finish with a perfect score. Mark Hague won second prize and Stanley Saunders gained the grading prize, a good success in his first BCA event.

Sheila Milsom raised over 100 for BCA funds with a raffle and Les Whittle raised a good sum for his local Lions Club which had supported his playing in recent international events.

A good week-end in a pleasant hotel was another fine achievement for Stan Lovell and his tournaments committee.

Bill Armstrong
B.C.A. Publicity officer
October 2005



4 points: Mordue, Lilley (Mordue had a better tie-break and won the trophy)
3.5 points: Cumbers, Ross
3 points: Whittle, Armstrong, Chambers, Lovell, Waters
2.5 points: Delaney (IRL), McElroy (IRL), Crombie, Thacker, Murphy
2 points: van Aurich (NED), Hodgkins, Casey (IRL)
1.5 points: Plechaty, Phillips, Kirkham
1 point: S. Brown, van Aurich Hoogenraad (NED)

Price Grading prizes were won by Roger Waters and tournament organiser, Stan Lovell.


5 points: Cuthbert
3.5 points: Hague
3 points: Patching, Keen
2.5 points: Hall (IRL), S. Saunders
2 points: Osborne, Hodges
1 point: Harrington
0.5 point: A. Saunders

The grading prize was won by Stanley Saunders. This was his first B.C.A. tournament!


Tournaments Results


B.C.A. 2002 - 2005