This took part between 21st-23rd March 2003 in Bedford.

The A.G.M. was a weekend of contrasts between events at the board and those away from it. The Moat House proved to be an excellent venue with helpful and efficient staff who already knew everyone’s names on the Friday evening. A high standard of food and service was maintained all weekend. The B.C.A. party consisted of 39 players and over a dozen guides, friends and controllers. The BCA was pleased to welcome a group from RNIB New College Worcester, Rob van Aurich and Kim van Hoogenraad from the Netherlands, and Jim and Mary Cuthbert returning after a long break. New junior member Nathan Keen was attending his first ever chess tournament. In contrast to the friendly spirit outside the chess room, no quarter was asked or given over the board. There were at most three drawn games in each round!

Round 1 witnessed only one draw, and this was a fine result for Steve Thacker against second seed Paul Cumbers in the Open. Most other games went according to seeding, with Tyson Mordue defeating David Hogkins and Chris Ross prevailing against Mark Kirkham. In the Minor, top seed George Phillips overcame Chrissie Brown while several of the New College Worcester squad beat far more experienced players.

In Round 2, Tyson Mordue, Chris Ross, Steve Burnell and Colin Chambers maintained their 100% scores, with Rob van Aurich and Steve Thacker close behind on 1.5. In the Minor, George Phillips ‘did the double’ by beating Bob Brown but the lads from Worcester kept up with the pace.

After Round 2 came the A.G.M, expertly chaired by Jim Lidstone. This will be reported elsewhere but mention must be made of Wendy Holmes, who has stepped down as Treasurer because of other commitments. The BCA owes her tremendous gratitude for her contribution over the past 5 years. Sadly, Stan Lovell confirmed that this will be his last year as Secretary. Supported by Jan, he has truly been a lynchpin of the Association. On a happier note, membership of Junior BCA has now passed 10, and as provided in the Constitution they elected Yan Kit Chan as their own representative to join the Committee.

On Saturday evening the players returned to the fray for Round 3. This was a vital round in both sections. In the Open the four players on 2 points clashed, with Chris Ross and Tyson Mordue winning with White and moving ahead of the field, chased by Rob van Aurich who defeated Steve Thacker to reach 2.5. In the Minor George Phillips and Richard Allen moved into joint first place on 3/3. Yan Kit Chan and Michael Sharkey drew their game to stay half a point behind.

In Round 4 Tyson made sure of at least a share of first place in the Open with his fourth consecutive win, this time against Chris Ross. Steve Burnell, Colin Chambers and Paul Cumbers found their form with wins against Rob van Aurich, David Hodgkins and John Gallagher respectively to join Chris on 3/4. In the Minor George Phillips also maintained a 100% score with a win against Richard Allen. Yan Kit Chan beat Geoff Patching and Michael Sharkey overcame Shirley Watkins. On 3.5 points, Yan Kit and Michael still had everything to play for in the final round. Equally important, Nathan Keen won his first ever game under tournament conditions, against our Chairman Jim Lidstone.

The weekend seemed to be drawing to a close almost as soon as it began as we sat down for Round 5. The players maintained their fighting spirit with only three draws. Tyson clinched the Open, winning with White against Paul Cumbers. Steve Burnell defeated Steve Thacker and made sure of second place on 4/5. Colin and Chris drew their game to reach 3.5/5, joined by Rob van Aurich who overcame Les Whittle. The Minor also saw an outright victor as George Phillips maintained his winning ways against Yan Kit Chan to score 5/5. Michael Sharkey took second place with 4.5 and Jim Cuthbert won his final game to come third with 4/5. Nathan Keen notched up a second win, bringing him a grading prize.

Gerry Walsh and Julie Leonard formed a faultless control team. Sheila Milsom once again worked tirelessly on the raffle. Special thanks must go to Stan and Jan Lovell for organising another successful and enjoyable A.G.M. Tournament.

Final scores.


1 Tyson Mordue 5.

2 Steve Burnell 4.

3-5 Colin Chambers, Chris Ross, Rob van Aurich 3.5.

6-7 Paul Cumbers, David Hodgkins 3

8-12 John Gallagher, George Plechaty, Steve Thacker, Guy Whitehouse, Norman Wragg 2.5

13-16 Richard Murphy, Brian Perham, Les Whittle, Roger Waters 2

17-20 Kim van Hoogenraad, Mark Kirkham, Peter Price, Orlando Sobers 1

Grading prizes:

Group A: David Hodgkins
Group B: George Plechaty, Guy Whitehouse


1 George Phillips 5

2 Michael Sharkey 4.5
3 Jim Cuthbert 4

4 Yan Kit Chan 3.5

5-10 Richard Allen, Chrissie Brown, Bob Brown, Alastair Irving, Darren Paskell, Robin Williams 3

11–16 John Busbridge, Richard Harrington, Nathan Keen, Geoff Patching, John Osborne, Shirley Watkins 2

17-19 Francis Collisson, Dorothy Hodges, Jim Lidstone 1

Grading prizes:
Group A: Richard Allen, Bob Brown, Alastair Irving, Darren Paskell, Robin Williams
Group B: Richard Harrington, Nathan Keen.

Richard Murphy
B.C.A. Publicity officer

Click here to download the results of the
B.C.A. A.G.M. 2003

Pictures from the AGM












B.C.A. 2002